Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

User Tag List

Junior Scrapper
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, fellow scrappers!

I am starting my first 'family' scrapbook, meaning I am doing one of a whole year of the life of my family. I am feeling overwhelmed. Before this I have only done small scrapbooks, baby's first year, my son's little league years, etc. Where should I start and what tips do you have for me?

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Sunshine
    I've been doing "annual" family albums for the past several years. I usually start w/the year in order. You can tackle this project this way and keep it somewhat chronological OR you can sort your pics and look for "themes" such as a child's sports, changes in hairstyles,
    friends, etc. I went back to "catch up" on my annual albums and recently went back to 1998 and more than finding events, I found the "themes" throughout the year such as my dd playing dress up, both my children in various "jammies", and pics of them w/both sets of grandparents as well as great aunt and uncle.
    So those were the themes I found in those older pics.
    Hope this helps.
    TALLIES 2017
    1. SCRAPBOOK PAGE TOTALS: 6
    2. CARD TOTALS: 3
    3. CARD KITS:

4. MINI BOOK:
    5. OTHER ALTERED PROJECTS: 1

"Dull Women Have Immaculate Houses"

Maria

Senior Scrapper
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My tip would be...don't stress. I've always ONLY done family in chronological order, and I don't worry about keeping a year in one album...or several years in one. I WAS accomplishing nothing, simply because I never felt organized enough. Now I am using top loading albums instead of strap hinge...I scrap whatever layout I'm in the mood for, and when I get enough to fill an album...I insert them in sleeves.