PDA

View Full Version : I am new to digital scrapping ....questions????

kray
09-05-2009, 08:51 PM
I am wanting to do some digital scrapbooking.....and some hybrid to.

The only site I have been on was: cropmom.com

I did a few pages and thought about ordering them.....but I am not for sure how to do that.....there's some downloading, then uploading, then buying/ordering.....

So.....I don't know where to start.

So....any help to get me started? I don't know what all to ask.

illinimom
09-05-2009, 11:04 PM
I'm not real familiar with cropmom.....in fact, I just looked at it for the first time. But from what I've seen, it is not a good choice for digi-scrapping. It looks like they do not actually sell prints of your layouts. They let you create a file online and then DOWNLOAD the hi-res file TO YOU COMPUTER for a fee....$1.79 per file. THEN you can go to a 3rd party and upload the file and have it printed for THEIR fee....usually somewhere between $2 to $6, depending on the company. The files you can download for free from cropmom are NOT print quality files. They are meant for viewing on you computer only.

I don't really see the advantage in using crop mom over just making the layout on your own computer and uploading that file. Maybe to save money on a scrapping program and supplies. But there are plenty of freebies for digi-supplies for someone just starting. And while you will at some point want to spring for a graphics program if you get heavily into digi, you can do it in Power Point or Word to get started. There are also free programs out there. Just make sure you work in hi-res....300 dpi...as opposed to the 72 dpi default for Power Point.

Maybe someone else will tell you cropmom is great, but since I've never used it, I'm just giving my quick take on it.

kray
09-06-2009, 03:17 AM